Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework of learning which enables practitioners to support children’s learning and development from birth to age 5.

The EYFS has been divided up into 6 age bands which overlap because every child is different and not all children develop at the same rate. Children learn and develop through playing, exploring, being active, creative and being asked questions to help their thinking. To find out more please go to Foundation Years or visit “What to Expect When” for a more parent friendly copy.

The EYFS is divided into three prime areas including;

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

These three areas develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences offered to children and support their development in all other areas.
The four specific areas of learning include;

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

These are essential skills and knowledge for children to participate in society.

Observations and Assessments

While children attend the setting, key workers are assigned to each child to carry out daily observations as well as collating other evidence of childrens’ individual development progress through learning stories, photographs, parents comments and examples of work. Tracking is also carried out on each child every 4 months to see how they are progressing through the EYFS ages and stages.
By completing this tracking, we can assess each childs’ individual progress and ensure we are planing appropriate activities to continue their individual development and identify any areas where they may be excelling or require additional support. All this evidence is kept in each childs’ development file which can be accessed be parents at any time.